Gulu University Faculty of Law Courses Offered

Gulu University Faculty of Law

There is currently inadequate information regarding this Law school. Kindly visit the universities website for any information.

This is a list of accredited institutions offering law courses in Uganda, as of October 2014.

In 2001 a Technical Task Force was appointed to set up the University. Because of the insecurity in Gulu at the time, the Team set up a temporary office at Lincoln Flat 4 at Makerere University. The Task Force consisted of Dr. J.H. Pen Mogi Nyeko (Vice Chancellor), Prof. Mary. J.N. Okwakol (Deputy Vice Chancellor), Dr. Stephen Tikodri (University Secretary), and Mr Peter Egwelu (Academic Registrar).

The office relocated to Gulu in early 2002. In October 2002 the University opened at the District Farm Institute located on Awich Street in Laroo Division, Gulu Municipality. The University opened with the Faculty of Science Education and Institute Human Resource Development offering following course; Bachelor of Science Education; Postgraduate Diploma in Education; Diploma in Computer Science.

Bachelor of Business Administration; Bachelor of Development Studies; Postgraduate Diploma in Financial Management; Diploma in Secretarial Science; Diploma in Development Studies.

Gulu University was legally established by a Statutory Instrument No. 31 of 2003. Initially, the University was named Gulu University of Agriculture and Environmental Science and was to specialise in agricultural mechanisation. However, it was later proposed that the University should widen its scope beyond agricultural mechanisation and produce high level human resource that can effectively participate in solving the social and economic problems of the country. It was then renamed Gulu University.

From 2002 to 2012 the University steadily increased its intake, faculties and programmes due to the demand to satisfy practical needs nationally, regionally and internationally. As at 2012 the University has five faculties and two institutes:

  • Faculty of Medicine,
  • Faculty of Agriculture and Environment,
  • Faculty of Science,
  • Faculty of Education and Humanities,
  • Faculty of Business and Development Studies,
  • Institute of Peace and Strategic Studies, and
  • Institute of Research, Graduate Studies and Staff Development.

Gulu University Cut Off Points

Cut Off Points For Gulu University

Below are the Cut Off Points for Gulu University, this is essential for determining the minimum points required to gain admission into the various universities. You can find the Cut Off Points for Other Public Universities in Uganda Here


Bachelor of Information & Communication Technology GU GIT 50.3

Bachelor of Developmental Studies GU DES 49.9

Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery GU GUM 47.8

Bachelor of Quantitative Economics GU GQE 47.6

Bachelor of Science in Biosystems Engineering GU GSB 47.4

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science GU GCS 47.3

Bachelor of Business Administration GU BBG 46.7

Bachelor of Science Education – Economics GU GEE 44

Bachelor of Science in Education- Physical GU SEG 43.7

Bachelor of Agriculture GU GUA 40.2

Bachelor of Science Education- Biological GU GBE 38.7

Gulu University Admission

The Academic Registrar Gulu University invites online applications to programmes offered at the University for the academic year under the Higher Education access  Certificate, Direct, Mature Age, Diploma and Graduate Entry Schemes. The deadline for receiving applications is October 15th. Applicants must fill and submit the application form online accessible on the URL or The detailed application procedure is provided at end of the advert below.

Gulu University Admission