List Of Anglican Bishops In Uganda

List Of Anglican Bishops In Uganda

The majority of bishops in the Anglican Communion are the spiritual, pastoral, and executive heads of dioceses. A diocesan bishop is the Ordinary of his or her diocese, and has wide-ranging legal and administrative responsibilities.

Here are the List Of Anglican Bishops In Uganda

Archbishops of Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi

Leslie Brown, Bishop of Namirembe
Erica Sabiti, Bishop of Ruwenzori

Archbishops of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Boga-Zaire

Erica Sabiti, Bishop of Kampala
Janani Luwum, Bishop of Kampala

Archbishops of Uganda and Bishops of Kampala

Silvanus Wani (Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Boga-Zaire until 1980)

Yona Okoth (previously Bishop of Bukedi)

Livingstone Mpalanyi Nkoyoyo

Henry Luke Orombi

Stanley Ntagali

present: Stephen Kaziimba

How many Anglican churches are in Uganda?

Historical Background.

The Church of Uganda is a member province of the Anglican Communion. Currently there are 37 dioceses which make up the Church of Uganda, each headed by a bishop. Shergold Smith and C. T.

Who is the archbishop in Uganda now?

KIU, Main Campus – On January 25th, 2022, former Bishop of Kasana – Luwero district, Paul Ssemogerere, was officially installed by the Roman Catholic Church of Uganda as the new Archbishop of Kampala Diocese. Pope Francis selected him on 9th December 2021 and installed him as the 4th Archbishop of the Kampala Diocese.

Who was the first Anglican bishop in Uganda?


After the division, the diocese’s territory was East Buganda and Busoga.

Brown was elected to become the first archbishop of the new province and took up the post in 1961, when the eight dioceses were erected into the Church of the Province of Uganda and Ruanda-Urundi.

Who is the Anglican archbishop of Uganda?

Archbishop Stanley Ntagali

Archbishop Stanley Ntagali was elected to the helm of the Church of Uganda in June 2012. He was consecrated Bishop in December 2004 and served as the Bishop of Masindi-Kitara Diocese for eight years.