List Of Dams In Uganda

List Of Dams In Uganda

Dam is a barrier constructed to hold back water and raise its level, forming a reservoir used to generate electricity or as a water supply.

Here are the List Of Dams In Uganda

Bugoye Power Station Bugoye, Kasese District

Bujagali Power Station Bujagali, Buikwe District

Kabalega Power Station Buseruka, Hoima District

Kanungu Hydroelectric Power Station Kanungu, Kanungu District

Kiira Power Station Jinja, Jinja District

Mpanga Power Station Mpanga, Kamwenge District

Mubuku I Power Station Kitoko, Kasese District

Mubuku III Power Station Mubuku, Kasese District

Nalubaale Power Station Njeru, Buikwe District

Nyagak Power Station Paidha, Zombo District

Kisiizi Power Station Kisiizi, Rukungiri District

Gwere-Luzira Power Station Gwere-Luzira, Moyo District

Siti I Hydroelectric Power Station Siti, Bukwo District

Muvumbe Power Station Maziba, Kabale District

Rwimi Power Station Rwimi, Bunyangabu District

Siti II Hydroelectric Power Station Chesowari, Bukwo District

Isimba Power Station Isimba, Kamuli District

Mahoma Power Station Mahoma, Kabarole District

Nyamwamba Power Station Kilembe, Kasese District

Nkusi Power Station Kyangwali, Hoima District

Lubilia Power Station Kawembe, Kasese District

Waki Power StationButiaba, Masindi District

Achwa 2 Hydroelectric Power Station Gulu District

Kyambura Hydroelectric Power Station Rubirizi District

Ndugutu Hydroelectric Power Station Bundibugyo District

Sindila Hydroelectric Power Station Bundibugyo District

Kikagati Hydroelectric Power Station Isingiro District


Kiira Power Station
The 200MW Kiira Power Station is located in Kimaka, Jinja District in Eastern Central Uganda, also known as Owen Falls Extension.

Nalubaale Power Station
The 180MW Nalubaale Power Station formerly called Owen falls dam is located along River Nile in Jinja District. The power station is operated and maintained by Eskom Uganda Limited under UEGCL contract.

Karuma Hydro Power Station
The 600MW Karuma HPP is located on the Nile River in Kiryandongo District in mid-northern Uganda. 110Km downstream of Lake Kyoga and 270Km from Kampala

Isimba Hydro Power Station
The 183MW Isimba HPP is located 4km downstream of Simba Falls on the River Nile, approximately 50km downstream off the source of Nile

Muzizi Hydro Power Station
The 44.7MW Muzizi HPP is located along Muzizi River in the District of Kibaale. It’s foot prints however extends to Kabarole, Kyenjojo and Ntooroko districts in the western part of Uganda

Which dam is found in Uganda?

Lake Victoria

Owen Falls Dam (now the Nalubaale Dam) on the Victoria Nile at Jinja, Uganda.

How many dams are on the Nile River?

Over the past 50 years, six Nile Basin countries have built 25 hydroelectric dams. As of 2019, four dams were under construction with four more being studied. The Nile is not just a source of water. It is an exceedingly sensitive ecosystem that plays a role in the environmental and ecological balance of east Africa.