List Of Unesco World Heritage Sites In Tanzania

List Of Unesco World Heritage Sites In Tanzania

Name: as listed by the World Heritage CommitteeLocation: province or town of sitePeriod: time period of significance UNESCO data: the site’s reference number; the year the site was inscribed on the World Heritage List; the criteria it was listed under. Criteria i through vi are cultural, while vii through x are natural (the column sorts by year added to the list)Description: brief description of the site

Lists of information World Heritage Site:

Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Ruins of Kilwa Kisiwani and Ruins of Songo Mnara

Serengeti National Park

Selous Game Reserve

Kilimanjaro National Park

Stone Town of Zanzibar

Kondoa Rock-art sites

How many Unesco World Heritage Sites are in Tanzania?

Tanzania is home to seven World Heritage sites, including cultural, natural and mixed grounds. Among African countries, Tanzania’s tally of seven UNESCO World Heritage Sites is exceeded only by Ethiopia and South Africa.

What is the natural World Heritage Site found in Tanzania?

List of sites

NameLocationUNESCO data
Serengeti National ParkArusha Region & Mara Region156; 1981; (vii),(x)
Selous Game ReserveLindi Region, Ruvuma Region & Morogoro Region199; 1982; (ix),(x)
Kilimanjaro National ParkKilimanjaro Region403; 1987; (vii)
Stone Town of ZanzibarZanzibar City173; 2000; (ii),(iii),(vi)